Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

When you join a Zoom meeting hosted by another user, you are considered an attendee. The user who scheduled the meeting or was selected to be the alternative host (if the host is unable to join) will have host controls.

The attendee controls appear at the bottom of your screen if you're not currently screen sharing.



Attendees have access to these features:

Mute / Unmute: Mute and unmute your microphone.
Audio Controls (click the ^ arrow next to Mute Unmute): Allows you to change the microphone and speaker that Zoom is currently using on your computer, leave computer audio, and access the full audio settings.


Start Video Stop Video: Turns your camera on or off.
Video Controls (click the ^ arrow next to Start Video Stop Video): Change cameras if you have multiple cameras, select a virtual background (if enabled), or access your full video settings.

  


Invite: Invite others to join your meeting.

  


Participants: See who's currently in the meeting. The Participants list also gives you access to these options:

  • Rename: Hover over your name and click Rename to change your screen name displayed to other participants.


Share Screen: Start a screen share (if the host allows). You will be able to select the desktop or application you want to share. 


Chat: Access the chat window to chat with the participants.


Record: Start or stop a local recording. Attendees do not have access to start a cloud recording. 

Note: The host will need to allow local recordings in their account settings, then give you permission to record. If you don't have permission to record, use the in-meeting chat or audio to ask the host for permission.


Reactions: Meeting participants can now react during a meeting by sending a thumbs up or clapping to communicate without interrupting the meeting. Reactions will disappear after 5 seconds.


Leave Meeting: Leave the meeting while it continues for the other participants. Only the host can end the meeting.